You are here

Official Opinion 2003-3

Official Opinion 2003-3

February 20, 2003
To: 

Deputy Director
Georgia Crime Information Center

Re: 

Updating of crimes and offenses for which the Georgia Crime Information Center is authorized to collect and file fingerprints

[This official opinion supersedes 2002 Op. Att’y Gen. 02-07 as indicated in note 1 below.1 ]

You have requested my opinion concerning whether any of the following seventeen misdemeanor offenses enacted during the 2002 Session of the General Assembly should be designated as offenses for which persons charged with violations are to be fingerprinted.

Those offenses include: O.C.G.A. § 48-13-58.1(b)(1)(innkeeper failure to pay excise tax); O.C.G.A. § 16-9-4(b)(1) (possession or use of false identification document); O.C.G.A. § 16-9-4(b)(2)(manufacture or possession of false identification document with intent to sell); O.C.G.A. § 16-9-4(b)(3) (manufacture or distribution of identification document containing a trademark without consent of owner); O.C.G.A. § 16-9-4(b)(6) (possession or use of identification card issued to another without permission); O.C.G.A. § 40-5-125(a) (lending drivers’ license or identification card to another); O.C.G.A. § 40-5-179(1) (lending identification or permit for persons with disabilities to another); O.C.G.A. § 40-5-179(2) (unlawful display or representation of identification card for persons with disabilities); O.C.G.A.§ 40-11-3.2 (unlawful towing of vehicle from paid parking lot); O.C.G.A. § 7-6A (violation of Georgia Fair Lending Act); O.C.G.A. § 16-9-111 (unlawful installation of air bags); O.C.G.A. § 16-7-43(g) (obstruction of persons enforcing littering laws); O.C.G.A. § 40-8-10(a) (unlawful use of nitrous oxide); O.C.G.A. § 27-1-38 (unlawful possession of fishing gear on trawlers); O.C.G.A. § 40-6-254 (operating vehicle with unsecured load); O.C.G.A. § 43-34-198(b) (practicing orthotics or prosthetics without a license);O.C.G.A. § 4-4-6 (failure to report animal diseases); and O.C.G.A. § 40-6-15 (knowingly driving a vehicle on suspended, canceled, or revoked registration).

In addition to the list of fingerprintable offenses mandated by statute, O.C.G.A. § 35-3-33(1)(A)(v) provides that the Attorney General may designate any other offense as one for which those charged with violations are to be fingerprinted.

The first misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 48-13-58.1(b)(1). That Code section provides that it shall be a misdemeanor for any innkeeper to fail to make a return and pay taxes due to any governing authority under Article Three of Title 48, if the tax liability is $10,000.00 or less. An offense resulting from a violation of this Code section does not, at this time, appear to be an offense for which fingerprinting is required and I am not, at this time, designating this offense as one which requires fingerprinting.

The second misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 16-9-4(b)(1). That Code section makes it a misdemeanor to “knowingly possess, display, or use any false, fictitious, fraudulent, or altered identification document.” I hereby designate offenses arising under O.C.G.A. § 16-9-4(b)(1) as offenses for which those charged are to be fingerprinted.

The third misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 16-9-4(b)(2). That Code section makes it a misdemeanor to knowingly manufacture, alter, sell, distribute, deliver, possess with intent to sell deliver, or distribute, or offer for sale, delivery or distribution a false identification document. I hereby designate offenses arising under O.C.G.A. § 16-9-4(b)(2) as offenses for which those charged are to be fingerprinted.

The fourth misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 16-9-4(b)(3). That Code section makes it a misdemeanor to knowingly manufacture, possess, or distribute any identification document containing the trademark or trade name of another without the written consent of the owner of the trademark or trade name. I hereby designate offenses arising under O.C.G.A. § 19-9-4(b)(3) as offenses for which those charged are to be fingerprinted.

The fifth misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 16-9-4(b)(6). That Code section makes it a misdemeanor to knowingly possess, use or display an identification document issued to another person without the permission of that person for a lawful purpose, unless it is possessed, used or displayed to restore it to that person or the agency that issued the document. I hereby designate offenses arising under O.C.G.A. § 16-9-4(b)(6) as offenses for which those charged are to be fingerprinted.

The sixth misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 40-5-125(a). That Code section makes it a misdemeanor to “[l]end his or her driver’s license or identification card to any other person or permit knowingly the use thereof by another person.” I hereby designate offenses arising under O.C.G.A. § 40-5-125(a) as offenses for which those charged are to be fingerprinted.

The seventh misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 40-5-179(1). That Code section makes it a misdemeanor for any person to lend his or her identification card for persons with disabilities to any other person or to permit use of his or her card by any other person. I hereby designate offenses arising under O.C.G.A. § 40-5-179(1) as offenses for which those charged are to be fingerprinted.

The eighth misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 40-5-179(2). That Code section makes it a misdemeanor for any person to represent as his or her own an identification card for persons with disabilities not issued to him or her. I hereby designate offenses arising under O.C.G.A. § 40-5-179(2) as offenses for which those charged are to be fingerprinted.

The ninth misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 40-11-3.2. That Code section makes it a misdemeanor for the owner of a parking lot within 500 feet of an establishment that serves alcohol to tow a vehicle left in that lot between midnight and noon of the following day. An offense arising from a violation of this Code section does not, at this time, appear to be an offense for which fingerprinting is required and I am not, at this time, designating this offense as one which requires fingerprinting.

The tenth misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 7-6A, violation of the Georgia Fair Lending Act. Title 7, Chapter 6A regulates lenders and the terms of consumer loans. I hereby designate offenses arising under O.C.G.A. § 7-6A-8(B) as offenses for which those charged are to be fingerprinted.

The eleventh misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 16-9-111. That Code section provides “[a]ny person who installs or reinstalls any object in lieu of and other than an air bag which was designed in accordance with federal safety regulations for the make, model, and year of the vehicle as part of a vehicle inflatable restraint system shall be guilty of a misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature.” I hereby designate offenses arising under O.C.G.A. § 16-9-111 as offenses for which those charged are to be fingerprinted.

The twelfth misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 16-7-43(g). That Code section makes it a misdemeanor to obstruct or resist any person in connection with that person’s enforcement of O.C.G.A. § 16-7-43 or local littering ordinances, or to retaliate or discriminate against such a person as a reprisal for any act or omission of such person. I hereby designate offenses arising under O.C.G.A. § 16-7-43(g) as offenses for which those charged are to be fingerprinted.

The thirteenth misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 40-8-10(a). That Code section makes it a misdemeanor to drive a passenger car that supplies the car’s engine with nitrous oxide. An offense arising from a violation of this Code section does not, at this time, appear to be an offense for which fingerprinting is required and I am not, at this time, designating this offense as one which requires fingerprinting.

The fourteenth misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 27-1-38. That Code section provides that any violation of Title 27 or any rules relating to the possession or use of fishing gear on trawlers shall be a misdemeanor. I have previously designated misdemeanors arising under O.C.G.A. § 27-1-3 through O.C.G.A. § 27-1-39 as fingerprintable offenses. See 1995 Op. Att’y Gen. 95-15. Therefore, I hereby designate the violation of O.C.G.A. § 27-1-38 as an offense for which those charged are to be fingerprinted.

The fifteenth misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 40-6-254. That Code section makes it a misdemeanor to operate any motor vehicle with an inadequately secured load. I have previously designated misdemeanor failure to secure a vehicle load an offense for which those charged are not to be fingerprinted. See 1995 Op. Att’y Gen. 95-15. Therefore, an offense arising under O.C.G.A. § 40-6-254 does not, at this time, appear to be an offense for which fingerprinting is required and I am not, at this time, designating this offense as one which requires fingerprinting.

The sixteenth misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 43-34-198(b). That Code section makes it a misdemeanor to practice orthotics or prosthetics without a license. An offense arising under O.C.G.A. § 43-34-198(b) does not, at this time, appear to be an offense for which fingerprinting is required and I am not, at this time, designating this offense as one which requires fingerprinting.

The seventeenth misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 4-4-6. That Code section makes it a misdemeanor to violate the state requirements concerning notice and reporting of animal diseases. An offense arising under O.C.G.A. § 4-4-6 do not, at this time, appear to be an offense for which fingerprinting is required and I am not, at this time, designating this offense as one which requires fingerprinting.

The eighteenth misdemeanor offense is O.C.G.A. § 40-6-15. That Code section makes it a misdemeanor knowingly to drive a vehicle when the registration of the vehicle is suspended, canceled, or revoked. I hereby designate offenses arising under O.C.G.A. § 40-6-15 as offenses for which those charged are to be fingerprinted.

I trust that my revisions of the specific designations of those offenses for which persons charged with violations are to be fingerprinted will aid you in discharging your duties pursuant to the Georgia Crime Information Act.

Prepared by:

Katherine Durden
Assistant Attorney General


1 This opinion includes consideration of a crime, O.C.G.A. § 40-6-15 (Supp. 2002), not presented in your original request and supersedes 2002 Op. Att’y Gen. 02-07. In all other respects the opinions are the same.