Organization of the Office

The Department of Law is organized into 7 legal divisions and one operations division. In addition, there is the "Executive Office" which includes the Attorney General, the Chief Deputy Attorney General, the Counsel to the Attorney General, the Solicitor General's Office, the Special Prosecutions Unit and the Communications Office.

Regulated Industries and Professions – The Regulated Industries and Professions Division provides legal advice on matters relating to the environment, consumer protection and professional licenses issued by the State. The division represents a wide range of clients, including the Governor’s Office of Consumer Protection, the Insurance Commissioner, most of the Georgia Boards and Commissions that issue professional licenses, the Department of Natural Resources and the Department of Agriculture.

Sections: Regulated Public Interests; State Licensing Boards; Environmental and Natural Resources

Commercial Transactions and Litigation – The Commercial Transactions and Litigation Division handles transactions and litigation involving the business, financial and property interests of state government.  It also provides general representation to agencies such as the Department of Revenue, the Department of Transportation, the State Auditor and the Georgia Lottery Corporation, as well various State authorities, including the Georgia Ports Authority, the Georgia World Congress Center and the Jekyll Island Authority.  

Sections: Tax; Real Property; Construction, Transportation and Authorities; Business and Finance  

Criminal Justice Division - The Criminal Division represents the State of Georgia in all capital felony appeals, including those in which the death penalty has been imposed, in both state and federal court. The division also provides general legal representation to the various public safety and law enforcement agencies in the state, including the Department of Corrections, the Department of Public Safety, the Department of Motor Vehicle Safety, the Georgia Bureau of Investigation and the State Board of Pardons and Paroles.

Sections: Capital Litigation; Post-Conviction Litigation; Public Safety

General Litigation Division – Attorneys in the General Litigation Division maintain an active trial practice, handling cases from initial pleadings through trial and appeals. They provide legal representation for the State in civil rights cases, tort cases and workers’ compensation claims.

Sections: Civil Rights; Torts; and Workers' Compensation

Government Services & Employment Division – The Government Services & Employment Division provides legal advice on a broad range of government activities and services, including matters involving elections, ethics, open records and open meetings, social services and employment. The division represents the Department of Human Services, the Department of Community Health, the Department of Labor and all of the State retirement systems. It also represents the Board of Regents, the State Department of Education, the Secretary of State’s Elections Division and the State Ethics Commission.

Sections: Health and Social Services; Labor & Employment; Education/Elections/Local Government & Judiciary.

Special Prosecutions Unit – The Special Prosecutions Unit prosecutes fraud and corruption involving the State of Georgia’s departments and agencies, including those committing crimes against the state.  The Unit also prosecutes identity fraud, residential mortgage fraud and securities fraud. 

Medicaid Fraud Control Unit – The Unit investigates and prosecutes fraud and abuse by providers in the Georgia Medicaid program. 

Consumer Protection Unit - The Consumer Protection Unit is the consumer protection agency for the State of Georgia. The Unit helps protect consumers from unfair and deceptive acts and practices in consumer transactions. It also investigates consumer problems, monitors the marketplace to promote fair and honest competition, takes enforcement action against violators and publishes consumer education materials and alert warnings.

Operations Division: The Operations Division is responsible for providing administrative support to the legal divisions. The division is divided into three areas: Information Technology, Financial Services and Human Resources.